top of page

CalGreen Welcomes California's New Constitutional Officers*

Golden State voters elect an assorted leadership team, reflecting California’s long-standing diversity.

SACRAMENTO, Calif.–With its mission to advance systems thinking and the Triple Bottom Line, the California Green Academy (“CalGreen”) celebrates California voters’ historic election of a diverse set of “Constitutional Officers”–California’s top eight elected officials mentioned in the state constitution.

California’s newly elected constitutional officials are: • Current Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newsom will become California’s 40th Governor. • Former Ambassador Eleni Kounalakis becomes the new Lieutenant Governor–the State’s first female Lieutenant Governor. • Current Secretary of State Alex Padilla was elected to a second term. • Current State Controller Betty T. Yee was elected to a second term, also serving as the fifth Board of Equalization member. • Current Board of Equalization member Fiona Ma will serve as State Treasurer–California’s chief banker. • Current Attorney General Xavier Becerra will serve a second term, being the first Latino Attorney General. • Current State Senator Ricardo Lara (Long Beach) becomes the new Insurance Commissioner, becoming California’s first openly gay statewide elected official, and the first Latino Insurance Commissioner. • (Update) Current nonprofit leader Tony K. Thurmond becomes the State Superintendent of Public Instruction.

“California voters have elected a statewide leadership team with diverse backgrounds, proficiencies, and voices, and CalGreen is excited to see such an experienced set of officials taking the helm of the world’s fifth largest economy,” stated Greg Justice, CalGreen’s Chief Sustainability Officer (CEO/ED).

Pursuant to Article II, Section 20 of the California Constitution, all constitutional officers will be sworn in 07 January 2019–the first Monday of the new year, with all ceremonies broadcast on CalChannel.

A PDF of this release can be downloaded here.

*This release has been updated from the 09 November version, reflecting Tony K. Thurmond’s win as State Superintendent of Public Instruction.

bottom of page